2 ingredients pancakes

A while ago I watched one of those Facebook ‘life hack’ vids. This one was of recipes using just 2 ingredients. I promptly forgot all about it.

This morning as I went to make poached eggs on toast I realised that I only had egg whites, the yolks having been used up in a tiramisu.

Flashback to video of someone (actually disembodied arms) making pancakes using egg whites and bananas. I had bags of sliced bananas in the freezer. I always have sliced bananas in the freezer to prevent a glut of them blackening in the fruit bowl. I mostly use them to make that fakey ice-cream that’s all over the internet which consists of some blended frozen banana. It actually works too, I make it with a spoon of peanut butter or a couple of strawberries blended with the frozen banana slices.

So, for these internet life hack 2 ingredient pancakes which probably won’t work, 4 egg whites and half a bag of frozen banana slices (I would guess 2 bananas) into the food processor. Whizz whizz whizz.

Then I fried dollops of the batter in butter. Small dollops or the middles splurge out making it look like the pancakes have been sick (see third photo).

It actually works. They don’t fill you up much as are so light, but taste good. Keep the heat low as they burn easily. They are also deliciously sweet.

Leave a comment